About Bucharest - Bucharest City Tours

Go to content

Main menu

About Bucharest

General info:

Capital of Romania, Bucharest is the first city in the country in terms of size (228 square km) and importance (political, commercial, banking - financial, economical, cultural, touristic).
The city is located in the southern part of the country, in the centre of the Romanian Plain, at a distance of about 60 km from the Danube River, 100 km from the Carpathian Mountains and 250 km from the Black Sea. The average altitude is 60 meters.
Bucharest is surrounded by Ilfov County.
Population: more than 2,200,000 inhabitants.

Touristic sights:

The Old Princely Court
The fortress was built in the XVth century at the order of the ruler Vlad the Impaler (Vlad Tepes), combining the needs of a fortified point with those of the Royal Court settlement.
Today, one can visit an open air museum (established in 1972), where large catacombs can be seen under the ground as well as few walls, tombstones and a column preserved from the Conference Hall.

The National History Museum of Romania
Palace of the Post, built between 1896-1900, in Neo-classical style, by the architect Al. Savulescu.  It became a museum since 1970.

The Coltea Hospital
The first hospital of Bucharest, originaly built in 1704 at the order of the sword bearer Mihai Cantacuzino. The actual building was erected in 1888.

Romanian Athenaeum
Built between 1886-1888, according to the plans of the french architect Albert Galleron. The money necessary for the construction were raised through public subscription.
Today it's one of Bucharest's most prestigious concert hall and home of The Romanian Philharmonic George Enescu.

The National Bank of Romania

Creation of the French architects Albert Galleron and Cassien Bernard in Neoclassical French style.

The Sutu Palace
Built in 1833, in Neogothic style, at the order of the great minister of foreign affairs, Costache Grigore Sutu.
Today it hosts The Museum of History and Art of Bucharest.

The Palace of the Savings Bank (1896-1900)
Neoclassical building designed by the french architect Paul Gottereau.

The University Palace
Built between 1857 - 1869 in Neoclassic style, according to the plans of the architect Al. Orascu. The facade was decorated by K. Storck.

The Patriarchal Palace
Academic style edifice, built by the architect Dimitrie Maimarolu, between 1903-1907.

The Palace of Justice
Edifice in French Renaissance style built between 1890-1895 (architect A. Ballu and Ion Mincu).
The statues on the facade symbolize the Law, the Righteousness, the Justice, the Truth, the Force and the Prudence (author: K. Storck).

The Military Club
Built in 1912, in neoclassical style, according to the plans of the architect Dimitrie Maimarolu, to serve the social, cultural and educational needs of the Romanian's Army officers.

The Palace of the Parliament
Built between 1984-1989 at the order of the communist leader Nicolae Ceausescu.
It covers over 265,000 square meters interior surface, being the second largest in the world after the Pentagon buiding in US.
It has hundreds of offices, halls for reception or for scientific, cultural, political reunions, dozens of conference rooms.

The Victory Palace
Built between 1937-1944 to the plans of architect Duiliu Marcu, to host the Foreign Affairs Ministry. During the communist period was the headquarter of the Ministry's Council.
Today it hosts the Romanian Goverment.

Kretzulescu Palace
Eclectic style edifice with touches of French Renaissance, designed by the architect Petre Antonescu.
Since 1972, it houses the headquarters of UNESCO's European Centre for Higher Education (UNESCO-CEPES).

The Royal Palace
Built between 1930-1937 (architects Arthur Lorentz & N. Nenciulescu).
From 1950 it hosts The Romanian National Museum of Art.

The Central University Library
Built by the french architect Paul Gottereau, in 1893, to celebrate 25 years of reign of King Carol I.

Manuc's Inn
The last caravanserai in Europe. Built by the Armenian merchant Emanuel Marzaian (known as Manuc-bey) in the first decade of XIXth century.

The Ministry of Administration (1950)
Former headquarter of the Central Comitee of the Romanian Communist Party

Back to content | Back to main menu